23rd Annual Book Awards Competition

What are the CIPA EVVY Awards

The CIPA EVVYs is one of the longest-running book award competitions on the Indie publishing scene, running for nearly 25 years. The annual contest is sponsored by the Colorado Independent Publishers Association (CIPA), along with the CIPA Education and Literacy Foundation (ELF).

The CIPA EVVYs receive entries from all over the world, including England, Belgium, South Africa, Russia and Dubai. Averaging over 200 entries each year in 39 book categories and 8 technical categories, the CIPA EVVYs continue to provide an excellent way for independent authors to gain recognition for their work.

The judging is tough—the way a book competition should be. Judges are selected through CIPA’s judging qualification process and include teachers, business leaders, authors, critics, editors, readers and others. Our judges know books.

CIPA EVVY entries are judged and scored according to established minimum acceptable criteria. Only those entries that attain the minimum acceptable score become finalists, and entries must achieve certain levels in scoring in order to be eligible for 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and merit awards. The highest scores in each category are used by the judges to help determine each category’s winners, if any.

Why Authors Enter

Traditional literary awards are genre specific or only open to members of the sponsoring organization.

High quality, independently published books and books from small presses are often overlooked in favor of works sponsored by big publishers.

The CIPA EVVYS are open to all types of independently published books, regardless of CIPA membership. The EVVYS recognize achievement across a diverse range of genres and technical categories.

Quality matters, not affiliation. In addition to critical recognition and the credibility afforded by the rigorous judging process, winning a CIPA EVVY has produced tangible results for authors, including:

•    Increased book sales
•    Better marketing position
•    Distribution deals
Enter today and take advantage of the opportunity to showcase your book.

Award Submission Categories

Unsure of which category to enter, watch our video elaborating on the category choices here: https://youtu.be/pReXWNsVgA0

Regular Categories (click to view)
Technical Categories (click to view)


February 18, 2017:  Entries are open for acceptance.

May 20, 2017:  Last day to receive entries (including books).

July 31, 2017:  All finalists announced.

August 19, 2017:  Awards Banquet & Ceremony. (2017 WINNERS LISTED HERE.)

More Information:

Ask A Question Or Volunteer

Fun Fact: The CIPA EVVYs are named for CIPA founder, Evelyn Kaye.

Past CIPA EVVY Award Winners

 2015 2015

 2014 20131998

CIPA Education and Literacy Foundation (CIPA ELF) is a nonprofit Colorado corporation that is tax exempt and recognized as a Public Charity under the provisions of IRC Section 501(c)(3). CIPA Education and Literacy Foundation is listed in IRS Publication 78 and registered with the State of Colorado. Contributions to CIPA ELF are tax deductible to the fullest extent permitted by law.

Error: Please enter a valid email address

Error: Invalid email

Error: Please enter your first name

Error: Please enter your last name

Error: Please enter a username

Error: Please enter a password

Error: Please confirm your password

Error: Password and password confirmation do not match